On Being Beautiful

Words written in my novel: 4,376 (don’t laugh)

Shots my son has to get in a pre-middle school physical today: at least 2

Days of school left in the school year: 21

My grandparents used to take gobs of photos and slides of their flowers. Oh! There’s a purple-tinged daylily. Oh! There’s an orange one. And there’s the hydrangea in full bloom. Heavens! As a kid, I thought it was a little strange.

I am now one of those people. Have you smelled the honeysuckle this year? Beautiful!

Maybe it’s the passing of the years and the realization that we have a limited time on the earth, or maybe it’s that I’m becoming increasingly strange in a predictable, horticultural genetic repeat.

But now, I drive up to my house and can’t get over how gorgeous the roses look. When the gardenia blooms in the summer, I keep talking about it. And when the first lilies show their wild colors, forget about it.

My kids are like, “Uh huh. Cool, Mom” (thinking to themselves: weird). Then I take photos and put them in my blog. Amateur photographer’s note: taking pictures of plants is fun because they don’t move or squinch up their faces or say, “No, don’t take my picture; I don’t have any makeup on.”

Anyway, I got passed along The Beautiful Blogger Award from awesome writing blogger, JM McDowell. Thank you, JM! JM has some excellent posts on beta readers and what they should be looking for when they critique someone’s work. Be sure to check out her stuff!

The rules for the Beautiful Blogger Award are:

1. Thank the person who gave you the award

2. Paste the award on your blog

3. Link to the person who nominated you for the award

4. Nominate your choice of bloggers

5. Post links to the blogs you nominated

I’ll get to some cool blogs in a sec. But first, I thought I’d list some things I think are beautiful, in keeping with the theme:

1. A home-grown tomato fresh from the garden and eaten right away. Children’s author, Rosemary Wells, wrote the cutest book about a bunny having a bad, cold winter’s day at school. Then she is whisked away to the Bunny Planet, with the Bunny Queen named Janet, and Janet lets her be at home during the summer. Her mother asks her to go pick the first tomato of the year for her, and the little bunny does. The mama bunny makes her First Tomato Soup. I will never forget that book. Classic.

2. Lying in bed and smelling pancakes cooking and coffee brewing in the kitchen. It’s more luxurious than the Four Seasons, y’all.

3. Hearing your children laughing. Hearing children in general laughing. (Except when you are stuck on a bus with them for several hours.)

4. Getting to run on a morning when the sun is out and a breeze is blowing and you feel healthy. It’s better than any drug.

5. Seeing my sister in a colorful maxi-dress.

6. Watching my husband do anything in his Captain America t-shirt.

7. Walking past a rose bush in full bloom, and the scent literally makes you stop in your tracks. Try to walk away. Just try.

And now, for the bloggers who I haven’t mentioned in a previous post and who haven’t received this award (that I’m aware of):

Hare’s Tales

Eggton

Touch of Embellishment

Maui Shop Girl

Movita Beaucoup

Please check out these blogs and read the helpful, funny, fun stuff these cool writers are sharing with us from all over the world!

10 thoughts on “On Being Beautiful

  1. crubin says:

    You are right. There is something beautiful about the sound of your own kids laughing, especially when it’s a really good belly laugh. For some inexplicable reason, it makes me think: I created this wonderful person? I love hearing my hubby have a good laugh, too. Maybe it’s because it’s a treat to see your loved ones being happy. 🙂

    • annewoodman says:

      That’s gotta be it; nice way of describing it. If you could somehow guarantee your family’s happiness, I think you’d do whatever it took. Laughter is the best.

  2. erica says:

    Oh my goodness! I’ve never gotten an award! Thank you!! You made my whole day. I have also started appreciating the flowers. My mother always had a garden, veggies in back, flowers in front, and forced me to help her plant every year. Now I would think that would be a fun way to spend some time with my Mom!

  3. congratulations–I appreciate your beautiful choices.

  4. jmmcdowell says:

    Thanks for the great blog recommendations 🙂 And yes fresh tomatoes from the vine can’t be beat. Unless you can pair them with fresh-picked sweet corn…. And enjoy them while sitting in a beautiful garden!

  5. Andria says:

    As I’ve gotten older I have more appreciation for people in my life than ever before. Of course for my family, but also for friends ( love our book club ladies) but I find myself enjoying people I meet more than ever. I LOVE all of my little students at school- they all say the cutest things- and all of them are so beautiful- the little enthusiastic kindergartners, and I love the 4th and 5th graders who don’t see how wonderful they are, and all of them in between. I want to think I am now more tolerant of peoples’ differences than I was, so I can appreciate the best parts of them.

Leave a Reply

