Mooootivational Costuming

 

Thrilling.

 

Words written in my novel so far: 26,107

Miles run today: 3

Baby bunnies spotted on a trail at our local park today: 1

Some people like to wear costumes.

I can’t explain this, just like I can’t explain flux capacitors, why they haven’t yet found the Loch Ness Monster, and why some people in our community would choose Dairy Queen over Goodberry’s.

But I digress.

Last night, I mentioned to my daughter that some friends of ours were dressing up as cows to go to Chick Fil-A today and get a free meal. She seriously couldn’t sleep because she was so excited: for her, it was like Halloween and Christmas in July.

My husband felt the same way.

Give the two of them a costume opportunity, and they are all over it. My husband believes that costumes should be homemade, 100 percent. (And also, he heard the words “free meal.”)

As long as there’s sewing involved, I’m on board. If there is any part of the costume that requires craftiness, you will find me cowering in the pantry. There is not a crafty bone in my body.

So before work today, my husband drew and cut out hooves, manufactured construction-paper ears on a headband and cut out not just round circles for spots, but unique, cow-like spots.

Costuming prowess: why nothing is allowed to happen to my husband. Well, that and the $11 flux capacitor.

As I stood braiding her hair, my daughter asked about my Halloween costumes when I was a kid.

“Hmmm. Bunny, witch, Indian (er, Native American), witch, clown. My mom made me an awesome clown costume.”

“That’s it?” she said, looking at me in the mirror.

“Yeah… I guess. What do you mean?”

“I mean… what about all the other years?”

I wanted to tell her that before the era of Monica Lewinsky costumes and before the year I dressed up as a Black-Eyed Pea (before the Black-Eyed Peas existed) in college with all black clothing and black eye pencil around one eye for the annual college get-crazy-in-the-middle-of-downtown-Chapel-Hill Halloween party, costumes used to be strictly for kids.

“I stopped dressing up in about fifth grade,” I said, twisting a ponytail holder around her hair.

She gave me a horrified look in the mirror. “What?!!?!”

She is going into fourth grade this year.

But then I think about my grown-up husband’s Ghostbusters suit and when he was the Tin Man with silver face paint and a box around him rendering him incapable of using the restroom without completely dismantling all components.

“But look at Daddy. He still dresses up,” I said.

Her face relaxed, and she smiled.

Phew. Crisis averted.

And eight to thirty-one more years of costuming that my husband and daughter get to enjoy together.

What about you? Would the idea of dressing up like a cow make your heart go pitter-pat? Do felt and glue and cardboard keep you awake at night? Would you enjoy a Chick Fil-A meal so much more if you were eating it wearing spots and a braided tail?

19 thoughts on “Mooootivational Costuming

  1. Daryl says:

    I love making costumes. Why would anyone waste the chance of creating something unique. It’s like blogging. Would you rather have a blog were you re-blog funny posts, or write your own?
    Plus, we are all extreme extroverts…”Look, look, look at me, see, hello, person wearing silver…”
    I think I missed my calling as the robotic silver colored robot in Savannah, GA.
    Great post-

  2. Bernie Brown says:

    I agree with Daryl. Fun post. Ken and I, as adults in our fifties, dressed as The Avengers. The old Avengers, Mr. Steed and Emma Peel. We won the couples prize. Another year I went as the Starbucks mermaid (the one in their logo) and Ken was a barista in a borrowed Starbucks apron. No prize that year, but I got to wear a bright green bodysuit! I don’t think I have the urge to do things like that anymore, but I’m not sure. If I came up with some irresistible costume inspiration, I’d probably be looking around for a party to wear it to.

  3. robincoyle says:

    As a kid . . . all over costumes. As an adult . . . NEVER!

  4. Carrie Rubin says:

    I can’t remember the last time I wore a costume. Or ate at Chick Fil-A. Am I missing out on life, I wonder?

    • annewoodman says:

      Chick Fil-A was a toddler playtime hangout for us (kids’ play area that’s closed off from the dining area? Awesome). After that, I couldn’t eat it for years. Only now, about twice a year, I roll in there so the kids can get nuggets. It even burned them out. ; )

  5. L.S. Engler says:

    I still haven’t eaten at Chick Fil-A. We just got on in our area. I would definitely go for it if dressing like a cow was involved. I wish I had more time, energy, and resources (and…okay, skill, too) to dress up more at comic book conventions! I’ve done it once, but there’s no where near as much prowess in what I’ve done as some the amazing get-ups people can put together!

    For Halloween, I tend to go as a standard pirate since I have all the stuff, and I usually don’t have time to whisk together anything else, which is a damn bloody shame.

    • annewoodman says:

      Yes, I think some people can get extremely creative. The key is to find a friend who is very skilled and mooch off of him/her as much as possible. Or at least hope some of their skills rub off on you.

      Nothing wrong with being a pirate. If it’s good enough for Johnny Depp, it’s good enough for me.

    • Daryl says:

      It’s a shame you can’t go as a parrot, shrink the pirate costume, and put it on you shoulder.

  6. jmmcdowell says:

    I haven’t done a costume party since graduate school. 🙂 I like the idea, but nobody I know ever has one. But I’d have to buy/rent a pre-made costume. I couldn’t put together a decent one on my own. 😛

    • annewoodman says:

      Ah, graduate school… the last bastion of fun. ; )

      It would be funny if you had a party and stipulated that people could only use materials they already had… it could make for an interesting evening!

  7. Carla Helms says:

    My mom made me an awesome clown costume too. In fact, it was so good that when I was a freshman in college, we just added some fabric to lengthen it and I wore it again. For the festivities. I am guessing it is still in my parents attic and there is a good chance one of my children will wear it one day…

    • annewoodman says:

      It’s so cool how parents can create good memories for us. My mom always worked hard to make sure we had good experiences.

      I hope you find your old costume and that Anna gets to wear it. ; )

  8. David Gentry says:

    Once again, you made me laugh. A great talent.

    Love, Dad

  9. 4amWriter says:

    I forget how to sew.

    My kids would be all over this. My husband would NOT be into that at all. I would go along for the photo op, but would probably not dress up because I don’t generally like bringing attention to myself. Blogging and trying to publish my novel are beside the point. We are talking cow costumes, here.

Leave a Reply

