Sitting Under a Single, Exposed Bulb

I love beachy foliage.

Miles run yesterday: 10 (apologies: I started this post yesterday)

Words written in my novel so far: 36,059

Forms I have filled out for school in the past three days: 13

Update: The Powers That Be have taken down the odd, middle-of-the-road stop sign from our wacky intersection and made the whole thing a three-way-stop. In the end, the poor sign was hit or the reason for at least four accidents.

So, I was both tagged and honored with another blogging award recently.

Thank you to Ravena Guron, Wonder Teen Writer, for tagging me with questions, and the lovely Poe over at The Poe Log (love that name!) for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award.

Ravena posed these questions to fellow bloggers:

1. What did you want to be when you grew up?

I thought for sure I would be an actress, writer or stay-at-home mom. At least I got two of the three in the end!

2. If you could marry a celebrity, which one would it be?

Hmmmm. Wow… hem haw hem haw… Yeah. Daniel Craig. (The hemming and hawing was fake. I had my answer a while ago.)

But I think I’ll keep my hubby. While my husband does not emerge from the ocean wearing tight swim shorts, he fixes things like minivan power doors, and I doubt Daniel Craig knows a single thing about those.

3. Do you think aliens are real?

I live with one. (“I’m an alien, I’m a legal alien, I’m an Englishman in New York.” Ten points for anyone who remembers that song and has heard it sung in concert.)

4. Which season do you like the best and why?

Summer is the best season. Don’t even try to convince me otherwise. I love water, sunshine and being outside. I love milkshakes and sweet tea and eating dinner on our deck. I love vacations and the beach and the mountains and running in the morning before it gets too hot.

5. What sort of books do you read?

I read all kinds of books, including women’s fiction, literary fiction, narrative nonfiction, biographies, memoirs, YA, and some mysteries.

6. What is your favorite book?

What a loaded question! How could I choose? But one of the first books to impact me like I’d been hit in the gut with wonderfulness was T.H. White’s The Once and Future King. Because I read it at such an impressionable time in my life, I’d have to say it rocked my world.

7. Why did you start blogging?

Writers write. And I wanted my writing to get out there in the world. What a fun way to riff on a wide variety of topics and complete short-term writing goals!

8. If I gave you a million pounds (well, dollars for those of us in the U.S.) right now, what would you spend it on?

Travel, clothes and braces for my kids. First up: a trip to Water Country USA. Maybe I would close the park down and invite 100 of our closest friends. No lines!

9. What is your favorite TV show?

We are very opportunistic; we get hooked on whatever is available at the time. Our faves this summer have been So You Think You Can Dance, Psych, Warehouse 13 and Perception. When the new fall shows start, we’ll be watching something completely different.

10. If you gave birth to twins, would you give them rhyming names?

No. I think I might pick a theme and run with it… like Goodberry’s sundaes: Better Butterscotch and Totally Toffee.

11. If you could, would you go back in time and be 17 again?

Hell, no.

I’ll post some great blog links in my next post to pass along the tag and award. Stay tuned.

28 thoughts on “Sitting Under a Single, Exposed Bulb

  1. By the way, I remember the song in point 3. Never sen it concert though.

  2. Melissa says:

    So…Congrats on the award! I’ve decided that you definitely have a “thing” for English men….Daniel Craig, a policeman and your husband. (Woohoo! Ten points for me!!) All in all, I think you have pretty good taste…However I should warn you, Daniel Craig is all mine…don’t be greedy! Also, love your taste in television shows…they appeal to the geek in me 🙂

  3. Amy Mak says:

    Alright…you have to watch BBC’s “Merlin.” I wanted to save it for a post just for you, but you brought up The Once and Future King again and I can’t resist. I’m not al that into dragons and SciFi, but I’m telling you, everyone from my husband to my 5 year old was HOOKED! We are now anxiously awaiting Season 5 to come out this Fall and yes, we started on Season One in July. That’s kind of embarrassing. Tata!

    • annewoodman says:

      Ooooh! I can totally imagine getting hooked on it. In case I miss when it starts, will you send me a message when the season heats up again? I can DVR all of the episodes! Yippee! We need a new Best TV Show.

  4. Carrie Rubin says:

    Well, you know I’m with you on the Daniel Craig thing. Jeremy Renner might do in a pinch, too. But like you, I’ll keep my hubby. I’ve grown rather fond of him over the years. 🙂

    And aren’t braces fun? At least I only have two kids. I can’t imagine having to go through the process four or five times, not to mention the cost.

    • annewoodman says:

      The key might be having awesome teeth DNA, which I did not. I love my teeth… but they were not organized in my mouth in a masterful, natural way. Now, my kids will continue to pass down imperfect teeth (but their partners may not know it because their teeth will be straight and perfect by then).

      Yes, Jeremy Renner is a hottie, too. (Motion of adding him to My List…)

      • Carrie Rubin says:

        I had braces at the age of 33, so I couldn’t fool my husband on who gave the kids their malocclusions. Not that his teeth were anything to brag about…

  5. Sting!!! my main man!!! 🙂 I have heard “Englishman in NY” live 3x and you’re right,,,,,one of his BEST ever concert songs, in part due to the incomparable Dominic Miller on guitar….(don’t get me started talking music!!! LOL I best be zipping it now!)
    Love Daniel Craig!!! FYI for anyone who sees this: rent Archangel or find it online and I guarantee you’ll walk away a Daniel Craig fan forever!!

    Great answers. I give you Super HUGE props for your choice of title and illustrating image! Brilliant!!!

    • annewoodman says:

      Yay! I love to hear Sting in concert! And that’s one of my faves to hear live.

      My husband saw Archangel without me and loved it… I haven’t had a chance to see it. I’ll put that on my “must do” list.

      Thanks!

  6. David Gentry says:

    Creative names for your twins when you have them. Or, as Ben and Savannah would say, “Cool!”.

  7. David Gentry says:

    Congratulations on the award! Some smart person said, “The best and truest compliments come from your peers.”

  8. Ravena Guron says:

    I love your answers! 🙂 The overwhelming majority of people I’ve asked say they’d never be 17 again. Who knew? And you totally should keep the million pounds and convert it to dollars… you’d get more 😀

    • annewoodman says:

      Ravena, Please take the not-wanting-to-be-17 thing as: your life will improve dramatically after you leave your teen years. ; ) You have so much to look forward to!

  9. 4amWriter says:

    Congrats on your award. Those are fun questions to answer. My answer to the celebrity question changes from time to time, but I have been in love with Viggo Mortensen ever since I saw him in Lord of the Rings. I have a feeling Viggo could fix minivan power doors and more.

    I have never read that book, but because you speak so highly of it, I think I ought to put it on my list. I wish I had more time to read!

    My brother and his wife had twin boys. Names? Axle and Nianoa. I can’t decide if I like those or the ice cream theme better. Might be a toss-up.

    • annewoodman says:

      Mmmm. Viggo Mortensen… I totally get it. I remember him from way back, before Lord of the Rings. I can’t remember which role, but I remember HIM. Wooo, boy!

      We will never have enough time to read all the good books in the world!

  10. jmmcdowell says:

    Fun answers! We’ve been watching Warehouse 13, too. My mom and sister both had twins—no rhyming names, either. And if I’d had them, I wouldn’t do it. I’d want them to really have their own identities.

    • annewoodman says:

      Warehouse 13 is so fun! My mom is a big-time Trekkie (will have to post about that sometime), so I got exposed to sci-fi early on. I have probably seen Trouble with Tribbles 15 times, easily.

  11. robincoyle says:

    Yup . . . writers write. Write on!

  12. Subtlekate says:

    Daniel Craig. Excellent choice and congratulations.

  13. The best season, in my opinion, is the third season of Parks and Recreation. Great show, that.

    Congrats on your award! It is well deserved.

Leave a Reply

