Share the Love: Buy a Book, Read a Blog

We had friends over last night to enjoy my husband’s cool fire pit. S’mores!

Words written in my novel so far: 52,842

Miles run today: 4.5

Miles run in pouring rain in last three days: 12.5 (ick)

My sister and I used to visit my grandparents every summer for a week. They tried to convince us that one day we would love tomatoes (I do!) and cantaloupe (I don’t!), and we would play badminton and mini-golf and go shopping for school clothes. There were long afternoons of reading my favorite books (my kids still ask me, “You read for how many hours???”) and my grandmother playing the piano so we could sing songs from musicals.

I would come home singing, “Oklahoma!” and “If Ever I Would Leave You” from Camelot. And especially, “My Favorite Things” from The Sound of Music. We sang them lots and lots of times.

My mom would say things like, “If I have to hear another Rodgers & Hammerstein song, I’m going to pull my hair out!” But she secretly loved it, I’m sure.

Because I’m behind on linking to some of my favorite bloggy people out there, I thought I would use this space today to share some love, some of my favorite things, if you will. If you are in a sharing, expansive kind of mood today, too, amble on over to these folks’ blogs (or websites). You’ll be glad you did.

1. You can check out Carrie Rubin’s blog but also her NEW NOVEL, The Seneca Scourge! I am trying to get this medical thriller on my daughter’s Kindle, because I, the biggest reader in the family, am the only one who doesn’t have an e-reader. Buy her book! Carrie is a smart, sassy writer, and I can’t wait to read her published work!

2. My friend and fellow North Carolina writer, Barbara Claypole-White, has a new novel out, too… The Unfinished Garden. She is a British ex-pat who writes “love stories about damaged people.” Barbara is an excellent writer, and I loved the story about a woman who was grieving her husband’s death and a man who was struggling with OCD. They meet, and well, you’ll have to read the book to find out what happens. It’s a transatlantic love affair with some gardening, cute British phrases and passion thrown in there. Barbara also blogs at Book Pregnant, a great resource for newly published writers. Buy her book!

3. I just ordered Sarah Gives Thanks from Amazon. Two cool blogger pals, Mike Allegra and David C. Gardner, created this book about the woman who not only helped Thanksgiving become a national holiday but apparently made all of us feminists who came later look like slackers. Buy their book!

4. I am having trouble putting down Shadow of Night, the second book in the A Discovery of Witches trilogy. I have no personal connection to Deborah Harkness, but I kind of wish I did. I mean, vampires and witches, the Bodleian library and time travel? Reading doesn’t get any better than that. And I’m a little annoyed that my family requires dinner. I mean, I have reading to do here, people!

5. Thank you to The Wanderlust Gene (travel, excellent photographs), J-Bo (hilarious anecdotes about life at age 26) and Ravena Guron (teenagers who write in England apparently are wiser than I was) for mentioning me on their blogs recently. I don’t remember if I’ve thanked them properly, so help me thank them by visiting their wonderful blogs.

If I’ve forgotten someone, I apologize! There are some great blogs out there.

6. Fall. I’m a big summer person, but I’m feeling giddy about pulling out my boots soon. And wearing jackets. And watching the leaves change. Are you?

24 thoughts on “Share the Love: Buy a Book, Read a Blog

  1. I can’t wait until the leaves change here in TX! And really wanting it to cool down just a little bit more.

  2. Carrie Rubin says:

    Thank you, Anne for that wonderful mention! I told another blogger recently that it’s like Christmas to open up a new post by one of your favorite bloggers only to see your own blog mentioned. Very kind of you. 🙂

    I recently read “A Discovery of Witches.” It’s not my typical type of book–I’m not really into witches and vampires and such–but I’d heard so much about it, I thought I’d give it a try. Really good story with great writing and lots of history. Not sure if I’ll read the second one or not. Is it as good or better than the first?

    • annewoodman says:

      Well, maybe it’s not everyone’s type of book. So far, because it’s set in the 1500s, I’m really enjoying it. But maybe that’s just me–I love the history and the drafty castles and such. So it’s a pretty subjective review on my part, I understand. ; ) But if you liked the first one, it’s still excellent writing!

  3. Jenn says:

    I read Discovery of Witches based on a recommendation you made in an earlier blog entry and am now seriously annoyed that I have to wait (what?!?) for the third book. Thanks for the rec–I love some magic, some witches, and some vamps. I can’t believe you don’t have an e-reader, but saying that…I downloaded the kindle app on my phone to see if I could tolerate the lack of paper and pages and book smell. I read 56 books on my phone and decided I was probably pretty committed to the format. So I’m not exactly an early adopter; but I love my Nook and would probably stab anyone who tried to take it from me. It might be my most valued worldly possession. I’ll definitely check out the recommendations above. Hope all is well in the the World of Woodman!

    OOOOOOOOOOklahoma, where the wind comes sweeping down the plain!!!

    • annewoodman says:

      Someday I will have my very own e-reader! I’m sure I will love it; everyone who has one seems to love theirs.

      Yes, the World of Woodman is so very wonderful… except when I have to cook instead of read. And then I am sad to leave the 1500s. ; )

      Hope you and your clan are well, too!

  4. jmmcdowell says:

    It’s always good to get fellow bloggers’ insights on good blogs and books. 🙂 I love fall. I think it’s tied with spring for my favorite season. Our trees are turning early this year, probably from the summer’s extreme heat and dry conditions. But I love the crisp, cooler temperatures and the brilliant colors. The shorter days, well, not so much. 😦

    • annewoodman says:

      Last night, I was lying on the edge of my son’s bed, telling him good night. I was telling him why I love time travel books so much; telling him about your novel, and he said it sounded cool. Hope to be able to promote Death Out Of Time on my blog in the future!

      Yes, I’m lamenting the short days. It’s the time when heading to work and heading home start to be done in the dark. ; )

  5. Amy Mak says:

    I clicked on the Sarah book and I WANT it. Bad. It looks great. I love Carrie’s blog and I think it’s awesome to mention other bloggers b/c it really is like Christmas to find yourself mentioned here and there. Nice.

  6. Oh, thank you for the wonderful plug, Anne! And I appreciate your book recommendations — I’m going to check out “Discovery of Witches” at last!

  7. It’s so annoying that people expect us to do other things when we have so much reading to do! My boss expects me to come to work and everything!

    My favourite musicals to sing from are South Pacific and Bugsy Malone. The Sound of Music used to be my main one, but I overdid it there.

    • annewoodman says:

      Your boss sounds very unreasonable. I managed to cook while holding a very large hardback book, so you can call me Ms. Multitasker.

      I probably overdid it on The Sound of Music, too, but you’ll still catch me bursting out into “How Do You Solve a Problem Like Maria?” at random moments. It’s wired into me now.

  8. Fall is my favorite time of year. Cool, crisp air. Clear nights. Gorgeous color. Good fishing. Good conversations around the campfire. It hardly gets better than this.

  9. 4amWriter says:

    I only just got an e-reader. Hubs bought it for my bday, although do you think I’ve seen it for more than 15 minutes? He had the nerve to download Angry Birds and some other ridiculous games on it, so now he and the kids all share it! I managed to download Carrie’s book the other night, got through the first 2 pages before I had to put it down and make dinner….

    Haven’t seen that e-reader since.

    If you ever get one, hide it very, very well.

    • annewoodman says:

      Ooooh. Watch out! My kiddos have Kindles, so I think I’m safe. ; ) My phone, however, is an object of intense love… it’s scary how much my son wants a phone. ; )

  10. I love posts that share the love! And I love fall too. Especially the weather we’re having in Oregon right now–crisp and bright, not too cold. The rains have usually started by now, so I’m trying to stare up at the bright blue sky many times each day to get my fill for when everything goes gray. My favorite part about fall is getting to wear my knitted shawls, scarves and hats, probably because I need those doses of color when the rain comes.

    • annewoodman says:

      Yes, I always look forward to wearing my boots! Scarves and long sweaters are fun, too. But I’m usually over that fun feeling by about mid-January. That’s why I try to enjoy fall. (It’s going to be in the 80s and sunny today, so no boots.)

  11. Holy cow! I can’t believe I missed this post! Thanks so much for your very kind words, Anne. I’m so glad you enjoyed the book!

  12. I don’t understand how i never seem to catch up … 😦 Thank you dear Anne!

Leave a Reply

