No Bones About It

Way too crunchy.

Way too crunchy.

Miles run today: 10

Social media class finished yesterday: 1 (yay!)

Mini Heath bars eaten today: 1 (only because that was all I could find)

It turns out that you can be 40 and still discover new things about yourself.

Or at least, you can discover a name for something that you feel that you had never put into words before:

I deplore bone-in meat.

One of my oldest friends and her husband send out an amazingly funny holiday card each year, and every year I think to myself, “I wish I could write something this funny for the holidays that didn’t sound ridiculous and overthought.” They usually manage to include several relatable points that make me nod and think, “I have had this very same experience.”

Their card this year had a list of “Likes” and “Dislikes” for each member of the family, up to and including the dog.

One of my friend’s Dislikes was bone-in meat.

I screamed out in agreement. Yes! We have been counseled: Know Thyself.

And now I do. I am Anne Woodman, disliker of bone-in meat.

I have toyed with the idea of becoming a vegetarian at various times in my life, but a.) I really like the taste that meat adds to a dish, and b.) my husband would never be okay with that.

So I keep cooking, and the family keeps eating meat. But I draw the line at meat with bones in it. Occasionally, I’ll roast a chicken and pretend that I can’t see the bones. I try to pull the meat off while closing my eyes.

For the most part, I don’t buy meat with hard, white reminders of the animal it used to be, and all the talk about chicken wings around the Super Bowl baffled me.

Chicken wings are weird. I’m sorry. I know I’m way, way in the minority here.

But why would you cook up a bunch of tiny little things and then pull the infinitesimal amount of meat off with your teeth in front of other people? There is hardly a bite of meat on each bone thing, people. And hey, news flash: They’ve figured out how to de-bone stuff here in 2013.

I don’t get it.

What is something that you’ve discovered about yourself within the past year? Please share; I would love to read about your weird realizations.

29 thoughts on “No Bones About It

  1. Carrie Rubin says:

    I am with you on the chicken wings and other bone-in meats. Not my cup of tea at all. And after watching my son messily devour dozens of chicken wings, I don’t think I’d have the stomach for them anyway.

    What have I discovered about myself this past year? That I can be completely content being home alone all day long. Of course, I always suspected that would be the case…

  2. 4amWriter says:

    I agree about the chicken wings. I refuse to eat them. I prefer the boneless style, which I’m not altogether sure are wings at all. Chicken wings are way too messy. I feel the same way about ribs.

    Hmm, something that I have discovered about myself? Recently? That I am imbalanced, energy-speaking. Too convoluted to go into now, but I’ll be posting about it soon. It’s all been quite eye-opening.

  3. robincoyle says:

    I take it you don’t do BBQ ribs. Too bad. One of life’s greatest pleasures. That, and 1 cent boots.

  4. I like the idea of living in a different country every six months. I’ve already got the list for the next two years. However, the list seems to be getting longer, not shorter. I should live so long.

  5. jmmcdowell says:

    Wings and ribs have always struck me as a lot of work for so little payoff. But I think nearly all the meat my mother prepared when I was growing up had bone with it.

    This year I’ve learned that it’s okay to try new looks, even at my age. 😉 I’m still self-conscious about it, but I’m doing it!

  6. strawberryquicksand says:

    I’ll tell you something that gives chicken wings a run for their money – FROGS LEGS! Now, I am half French, but have only eaten cruiss de grenouille once in my life. That was when I was in France and my host mum cooked them up for me. Good Lord! If you think chicken wings are hard work, try frogs legs. The thing I like even less about frog legs is that, because a frog is so small, think how many little buggers must have sacrificed their lives for ONE HUMAN MEAL! A little like shrimp, really. At least with a chicken four humans can make at least one and a half meals from it. And then we get on to the subject of beef – I have no idea how man meals one can get out of a cow, but it must be a MOTZA! At least one cow has died so we can eat a shitload of meals. I’m not a vego – far from it, but if I have fried rice and it has shrimp in it, I will eat every last little one becuse they died for my dinner.

    • annewoodman says:

      So true! I do love my shrimp (we had some over pasta tonight for dinner).

      But I’ve never had frogs legs. Eeek. Like you said, so much death for so little food. Tragic.

  7. Amy Mak says:

    Hahaha! I am so annoying to eat chicken wings with because I peel off the skin with a look of disgust on my face and then take little bites as to avoid getting any veins or cartilage in my mouth…sorry, it’s gross! It completely ruins the “man” experience my husband so longs for. The worst place he took me last year? Smokey Bones. That is a post all in itself! As to what I’ve learned about myself? I’m like Carrie. I can be home all day long and be perfectly content. I will be writing, of course 🙂 That’s the dream…will this be the year it’s fully realized???!

    • annewoodman says:

      Smokey Bones! That sounds like a place you and I would love. ; )

      So funny that you can be content all by yourself when you usually have a full house. It is something I have had to learn how to do. I missed having a crowd around. But yes, it’s a fun skill that I’m glad I’ve acquired. Good luck with your dream!

  8. Gosh.. I wish I had a newly recognized weirdness to share with you, but I’m just as weird as I was last year.

    I will eat a chicken wing, too, which is gross…. and weird. I should stop that. Maybe I will.

  9. I’ve never been a fan of chicken wings either. Seems like a whole lotta nibbling for not all that much meat. Also I’ve never been a fan of BBQ sauce, so, as far as I’m concerned, crummy all around.

    Turkey legs on the other hand…

  10. Anne, is this the end? Something we disagree on… Though, actually, even though I enjoy meat on the bone, I do think you are right about the chicken wings. Very silly. But for me a slow roasted joint of lamb on the bone is heaven. But I do go for the slow roasting option so that all I have to do is brandish my fork and the meat slides off the bone in compliance.
    I once had a friend over for roast chicken and he went too far – sucking the marrow out of the bones. I do draw the line there.

  11. Melissa says:

    Well, you and the Hubs have something in common….he hates wings. And I don’t use that word lightly. So I just take chicken tenderloins and cook them in the sauce…all the taste and so much easier. Otherwise, I’ve never really given it too much thought. Some people don’t like the “innards” but they make really great gravy and stock, so that’s not a bother either.

    My weird one…I don’t like nuts in my cookies or brownies and I like nuts (married one). It’s like they are competing for attention and actually detract from the deliciousness of the cookie or brownie. Go figure.

    Enjoyed lunch yesterday. Need to do it again when we aren’t rushed…or tired.

    • annewoodman says:

      Yes, definitely. There is always lots to squeeze into the weekends, it seems. It was great to see you and get to meet “the girlfriend.” ; )

      OK. I get the nuts thing. I like nuts, but they do seem extraneous in certain baked goods. However… my friend made some chocolate bark for us this weekend out of dark chocolate… and the nuts in it were divine.

  12. desertrose7 says:

    Lol! I am EXACTLY the same about meat with bones! It’s gross!
    I want to pretend that I’m just eating some other meaty flavoured vegetable that’s got nothing to do with an animal whatsoever! See a bone and I’m reminded, because vegetables don’t have bones 😦
    I also used to cringe when the kids were little and I’d just taken a bite of meat and they would say “What sort of animal are we eating tonight mum?”
    Blegh!!!!
    No bones, no sinew, no fat….just clean meaty flavoured vegetable, thankyou.
    (Lentils are good though.)

Leave a Reply

